Berlin graffiti

Yes, don’t adjust your monitor, that is William Jefferson Clinton with the word ‘Pimp.’ 

Now, mind you, plenty of hardcore graffiti websites exist dedicated to the art everywhere on the walls in this city. There are movies and youtube videos and probably several books.

I don’t claim to have discovered anything…and I don’t know anything about the artists, I’m not cool and I don’t know the schools and styles and what’s hip and what’s not, who’s copying who and who is ‘original’…I haven’t even yet seen the Banksy movie yet…I simply enjoy spotting this stuff.

I mean, Bill Clinton with the word “PIMP” below?  That is awe-inspiring, mind-blowing…whatever it means.

And such symbolic madness is everywhere in Berlin. From unavoidable enormous paint-splashed walls…to the tiniest stencils hidden in the shadows.

Joe and Mary Burgher call it wanton destruction of private property…and they may have a point there.  But graffiti isn’t the same as say, smashing the same wall with a wrecking ball, or dropping a bomb–that is destruction of property. Given, I have never owned a house, and had to paint over the writing on my garage every week…still, if I had a garage I’m not sure I would attempt to herd the cats, fight the inevitable. Maybe I would. Maybe I would be the first to invent the Cat Herding Machine. Maybe.

No…this is reality….graffiti exists, has always existed and will always exist. In its defence, I would say it adds value to generally drab and ugly facades. I enjoy the Gesamt Kunstwerk, the atmosphere that painted, living, organic and changing walls have on my surroundings. The city as canvas.

Here’s a ‘best of’ from the last six months.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Andrew Flohr-Spence

Something about the sound and the word. Was a singer/bassist for five years, a German major for five, an English teacher in Germany for another five, then a journalism major in Denver for 5 more, and now I'm back in Berlin (for a while, I intend).
This entry was posted in Lost in Berlin and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Berlin graffiti

  1. Mason says:

    Amazing images, of amazing work, everyone misses you two!

  2. Pingback: Berlin Street Art « An English man in Berlin

Leave a Reply

