Plattenbau, not yet ‘torn asunder’

Ghost city...creepy

Maybe I watch too many horror movies.

Tip-toeing over the broken glass on the overgrown street, alone and surrounded by the ghostly abandoned buildings I could have sworn I felt eyes watching me from the dark empty windows above. Birds rummaged in the dry leaves allowed me for a second to imagine I heard someone following. Another noise in the building above turned out to be a torn window shade flapping in the wind.

The whole time I was imagining zombies out of 24 or I am Legend running out of the shadows while I had my eye in the view finder. Surely the minute I walked inside, the door would slam behind me and a rat pack of teenage undead would scramble down the hallways, stomp me to a pulp, and eat my brains?

It could happen.

No really, I’m not kidding.  A pack of kids in Lichtenburg last week beat one guy within a hair of him having to push daisies, he’s still now in an artificial coma, and as if competing with Lichtenburg, several teens mauled a guy in Wedding the next day. If you believe the Berlin papers at least.

I, for one, believe everything I read.

But in the end the buildings I entered were empty. I guess I got lucky.

An area called Hohenschönhausen, the “high pretty house” is a witty translation.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Andrew Flohr-Spence

Something about the sound and the word. Was a singer/bassist for five years, a German major for five, an English teacher in Germany for another five, then a journalism major in Denver for 5 more, and now I'm back in Berlin (for a while, I intend).
This entry was posted in Lost in Berlin and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Plattenbau, not yet ‘torn asunder’

  1. Joe says:

    I lived in east Berlin as a young man. A great many of the plattenbau looked like a ruin even then. I’m an Architect now – oh how I would love to work at fixing one up.

Leave a Reply

