Moon test

Keeping your gizmo clean is constant battle. Sisyphus reality, really.

Really hard for a klutz like me who likes to stick his camera in every puddle that happens my way; I like to catch rainwater in my lens and lick it out to quench my thirst in the field; use my camera to break windows to crawl into abandoned buildings, as a battering ram to open doors.

So I got the housing and sensor and everything cleaned this week. 50 Euro bucks it cost me.

And then I had to go and buy a cleaning kit.

All the dirt was gone except one hair.

One fucking hair right in the middle of the screen. Jesus.

And the hair is now gone.

And most of the rest of the dirt is gone. But now I’ve realized the dirt is never all gone. You’d have to keep your camera in a hermetically sealed capsule to keep all the dirt off any and all the surfaces between reality and the finished photo.

Anyway, I should have gotten it cleaned years ago. For a while I tried to validate that it gave my camera a gritty flair, every picture a signature in the constellation of dirt on the sensor. Of course I never took my F-stop off 2.8 or 5, as low as it would go. Super zoom was out of the question.

Now I can actually play with my F-stop. A world of wonder that.

Speaking of small worlds of wonder: I had a few lenses my stepmother gave me for another camera just lying around the last few years and this week I thought, “why not see if you can find an adapter ring and see if you could mount them things on your camera.” And I did. And it worked. Now I have two mild fish eye kind of lenses. One of them is limited, basically only for artsy photos you want a round frame in, because the housing is visible. The other is a fish eye, but not really as dramatic a fish eyes as one might hope. Alas much fun to explore.

Before this turns into a “Camera shop chat” blog, I’d better come out with the pictures…

So here’s a few random shots I took the last few days including tonights full moon, to test my squeaky clean sensor…and no it’s not as clean as it could be…but it’s a hell of an improvement. If you’re wondering, I didn’t mess with the colors on any of these, except the black and whites.

[post amendment: I was wondering what was buggin’ with today…and then I saw the moon rise.  I just came to find out that the US and Allies just started bombing Libya and Knut, Berlin’s famous polar bear, died today.

I guess a little dirt on my lens is ok in the grand scheme of things.]

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Andrew Flohr-Spence

Something about the sound and the word. Was a singer/bassist for five years, a German major for five, an English teacher in Germany for another five, then a journalism major in Denver for 5 more, and now I'm back in Berlin (for a while, I intend).
This entry was posted in Lost in Berlin. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

