A new perspective…a new blog name

SO. Yes…I’m back in ‘Heavy B’ and I’ve made a few changes in my life. Thought I’d change the blog around a bit too.

Even done got me a domain.

Nuts, right?  Blame it on the finely set table of my life having its cloth pulled. Blame it on a tiny mountainous country in Southeast Asia. Blame it on a lot of things.

As silly and cliché as it sounds, my trip to Laos PDR was a life changing experience…and NO, I did not go to fuck little boys, ladyboys, prostitutes or elephants, nor did I get high and go tubing in Vang Vieng. I didn’t even go to Laos to add it to my yuppy places I’ve been; purchasing their handicrafts and enjoying their quaint ethnic traditions, while inwardly laughing at how primitive and poor they are so I could feel better about my pathetic soulless society.

No…I went to Laos to simply talk to the Lao people…and I never in my wildest dreams imagined what I ended up finding (neither did I imagine I would be hitchhiking, eating lunch with construction workers, or sleeping in strangers homes who graciously (without asking for money) took me in.

for the best views of Laos, I advise riding on the back of a truck

No…I went to Laos to talk to people who were effected by the 1965-1973 Secret War in Laos, or as the Lao call it, “The American War.” I went to learn the Lao side of the war, what motivated them year after year to stand up to the awesome might of the USA, and what they think now. More specifically I went to talk to the Lao about how they feel about that war today, more than 35 years on, and see for myself how the generation after the war are fairing, having been the most bombed country on the planet (a record they still hold.)

And I not only talked to numerous Lao; I talked to strange American vets that never went home, I talked to even stranger Americans who moved to Laos before the war and still live there now, and I talked to doctors, humanitarian workers, and NGO-er who are trying as we speak to work with the Lao to help that country move out of dealing with the horrible results of the war, into getting Laos on track for a brighter future.  I went to do research on my soon to be hammered out novel. Click on the link to the right, the Breakbone Fever Project, to read my blog about the whole thing.

Similar to the eye-opener that is delving into Post and Cold War Germany…my short time in Laos (another victim of wars) blew my mind. But Laos is very different from technically adept, populous Germany. Here’s a country of (at the time) about 1 million who took the full force of the Cold War and lived to tell about it…won their independence. The Lao are an inspiration to all humans.

Anyway…some day soon you can read the novel…but for now, in this blog, it’s time to refocus back on Berlin.

And get ready. I ain’t pussyfooting around no more.

(If you’re wondering about what happened to the name ‘eggs and toast’: it’s already taken by some fucking family blog)

About Andrew Flohr-Spence

Something about the sound and the word. Was a singer/bassist for five years, a German major for five, an English teacher in Germany for another five, then a journalism major in Denver for 5 more, and now I'm back in Berlin (for a while, I intend).
This entry was posted in Life in Berlin. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

