Accidental trip to wonderland

Once upon a time, under a government long-fallen, there was an amusement park in Berlin. Yes, even Communists amused themselves. I’d known the park was there, had walked past many times, but there are a lot of ruins in Berlin. If I just hopped every fence in the city, I would never get anything done. But there it was…a big gaping hole in the fence…and I couldn’t resist. despite myself.

I tumbled down the hole into Wonderland.

Truth is, I wanted to take video of the sunrise over the Rummelsberg Power Station. I got dressed in my photog gear and warm mittens and left the house at 5 am…walked 45 minutes in the freezing morning…way out into the quiet park on the water with only me and the ducks and the power station workers across the river…and I sat down, got out the camera and found my battery totally dead. Not even a flicker.

At this point…well, I was so mad I could barely see straight. It’s a long story but I’m not the most relaxed guy right now and me forgetting to check if my battery was charged was easily enough to put me in a really crummy mood.

“Gee, at least, I have my still camera,” the optimist in me tried to console, and so I sat for 10 minutes holding my camera and looking at the god damn pretty sunrise and fucking paddling ducks and rippling water and shit, and trying to relax, but I couldn’t get passed how pissed I was at myself.

So I got up and started walking to the nearest train station I knew of.

“I’m fucking going home and to bed!” I told whatever squirrel or bird was listening to me.

Another thing that pissed me off was the stupid fence that had me blocked in. The stupid fence to that stupid abandoned amusement park.

Sure, I could probably go in there right now with no one around in the wee hours of the morning, I thought, but that was too stupid and I didn’t want to climb the fence. Even a small hole in the fence wouldn’t be enough, I told myself, I wasn’t going to rip up my clothes just for some dumb adventure where I would probably end up getting chased by Dobermanns and arrested. Hell no.

Of course the big, gaping hole in the fence I saw next really pissed me off. I stood there 5 minutes just staring at it with all my hate…and up and down the path, hoping someone would come walking so I would be saved the decision.

No one came.

Damn hole.

I couldn’t resist.

ANYWAY! I just wanted to post these pictures as quick as possible…I have more to come soon!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

or check it out on Flickr

About Andrew Flohr-Spence

Something about the sound and the word. Was a singer/bassist for five years, a German major for five, an English teacher in Germany for another five, then a journalism major in Denver for 5 more, and now I'm back in Berlin (for a while, I intend).
This entry was posted in History-ish and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

